Wunderlich Farm
Wunderlich Farm
The Peter Wunderlich farmhouse, now surrounded by suburban housing developments northwest of Houston, stands as a reminder of a simpler time when this part of northwest Harris County was a rural area farmed by German immigrants. The farmhouse still stands where it was first built in 1891 by Peter Wunderlich II, son of Peter Wunderlich who came to Texas from Germany in 1852. The Wunderlich House was occupied by the Wunderlich family until 1995, yet the house retains much of its earlier style. Its wooden walls have never been sheetrocked, wallpapered or painted. With its chicken house, smokehouse, barn, and other outbuildings remaining, the Farm exhibits life in Klein as it was in 1890-1920. In March 1997, the Wunderlich Farm was granted a Texas Historical marker and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places. As part of their Texas history curriculum, all fourth graders in Klein ISD visit the Wunderlich Farm and the nearby Klein Museum. Led by volunteer docents, students experience life of an earlier day through many hands-on activities such as corn-shelling, grinding corn, spinning, weaving, and washing clothes on a washboard. The Klein Museum and Wunderlich farm are opened to the public the last Saturday of every month, except November, December, and May, from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. For more information, call 832-249-5800.
Marker
An historical marker dedication ceremony commemorating the J. Peter Wunderlich farm, conducted under the auspices of the Texas Historical Commission, was held March 2, 1997, at the farm which is adjacent to the Doerre Intermediate School campus, 18218 Theiss Mail Road, Klein, Texas. The farm has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Additional information and research materials can be obtained from the Klein, TX Museum office at 832-249-5800.
Click here to view "Remembering Klein's Past"
powered by ezTaskTM